Users can now reset their TikTok feed if they no longer find the suggested videos relevant. With this, the social media service gives users the option to delete the previous algorithm.
About one billion people worldwide use TikTok. In the process, the content displayed on the homepage in the app’s for-you feed is tailored to each individual.
However, it is not uncommon for users to feel as if the algorithm is stagnating thematically and the topics displayed no longer fit. TikTok has now come up with a solution for this.
Reboot: TikTok users can reset their feed
TikTok recently introduced a new feature that allows users to reset their For You feed if they no longer find the suggested videos relevant.
This means they can now watch content again as if they had just signed up. Depending on what they respond to then, the social media service will suggest more topics to them.
How to reset your TikTok feed
The new feature is meant to complement the existing settings options already available to the community to customise their experience on TikTok, the company said. And don’t worry: at the same time, the new feed option will not affect other settings already selected.
Reset TikTok feed: Here’s how
Users who want to reset their TikTok feed can do so in the menu under “Settings and Privacy”. In the “Content settings” section, they can click on the tab “Update your For You feed”.
Here, the app now informs users once again what will change with the reset. If they now click on “Next”, they will get to the “Update” button. Now the TikTok feed is irrevocably reset.
TikTok’s reset option deletes algorithm
At first, the new function seems similar to the previous refresh option of the pull-down menu. However, until now, users could only update their feed based on the current recommendation algorithm. However, the algorithm itself was not reset.
Users who reset their TikTok feed, however, irrevocably delete their algorithm and can react anew to displayed content and thus design their start page.
The new feature should be available to everyone in the coming days. To use it, users should update the TikTok app on their device.