Twitch is introducing a new app feature that will allow users to create stories starting immediately. This will allow them to connect with their community outside of streams.
Twitch is now offering a new feature: Users who use the mobile app can now create stories. The platform announced this in a blog post. This way, streamers can stay in touch with their followers, even if they are not live at the moment.
Creating stories on Twitch – this is how it works
Stories and reels have long been standard on other social media platforms. Until now, Twitch users had to resort to them in order to stay in contact with their audience outside of the streams. “According to your feedback, using multiple services […] limits your reach and makes you feel more disconnected from shared experiences on Twitch,” the company said.
The new function is set to change that. In the future, users will also be able to post short content on Twitch. Whether stream updates, vacation pictures, or personal messages – the Twitch stories will function in the same way as on other platforms.
Followers will be notified via push message when a new story is online. Unlike on other channels, however, the posts only expire after 48 hours. This is to give users more time to see the content. Followers can show their reactions via emotes – the Twitch-specific emoticons. Those with more than 30 subscribers can also create subscription abo-stories.
To ensure the necessary security, Twitch says it uses automated scanning measures. In this way, the platform can prevent the uploading of harmful content. In addition, users are also supposed to protect each other: Those who notice violations of the applicable guidelines can report them directly in the app, for example.
Twitch wants to add even more new features
If you want to use Twitch Stories, you need to install the latest version of the app. The feature is located at the top of the “You’re Following” page. For now, though, the feature is only available to partners and affiliates who have streamed at least once in the past 30 days.
However, access for other authorized users will be rolled out gradually within a week and will be expanded on an ongoing basis. The company also plans to add more features in the coming months. For example, users will be able to mention each other in their stories, create polls and upload videos.